You are not registered yet. Please click here to register!


 
 
plc storereviewsdownloads
This board is for PLC Related Q&A ONLY. Please DON'T use it for advertising, etc.
 
Try our online PLC Simulator- FREE.  Click here now to try it.

---------->>>>>Get FREE PLC Programming Tips

New Here? Please read this important info!!!


Go Back   PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > LIVE PLC Questions And Answers

PLC training tools sale

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old August 18th, 2004, 09:42 AM   #1
ayman metwally
Lifetime Supporting Member
Egypt

ayman metwally is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Cairo
Posts: 258
SIEMENS S5 - Programming port damaged !!

Dear Sirs
I have a major problem that I have a SIEMENS S5 (928-135 u) and I cannot make any communications with this mentioned CPU through the programming port.
Actually iam using an OPC server that talks to the programming port (AS511 protocol)for a SCADA application.

It worked fine for about a weak.

Now I cannot communicate with the CPU. So (for trouble shooting) I connected the PG directly to the programming port in the CPU but still there is no communications.
So now i cannot program the PLC .. what a nightmare !!

Please note the following:
1- The PLC now is running normally and acquiring data through it's input cards and sending orders through the output cards, So there is no probability that the PLC is not working.
2- I used two PG units for testing and they are working fine with other PLCs.
3- Cables are also fine as I tested it with other PLCs.


So for now I think that the programming port is damaged.(Am I right??)
Is there are any other probability ??

I am asking you for advises as I do not know what to do (This PLC is in a Power plant so I am having hard time searching for a solution)

Thanks in advance
__________________
Ayman Metwally

Last edited by ayman metwally; August 18th, 2004 at 10:19 AM.
  Reply With Quote
Old August 18th, 2004, 10:06 AM   #2
JesperMP
Lifetime Supporting Member + Moderator
Denmark

JesperMP is offline
 
JesperMP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Copenhagen.
Posts: 13,201
I think that to find out what is wrong you must prepare yourself to shut down the PLC. Hopefully you can do that without stopping the proces, or you can wait for a time where it is the least annoying.

I would then proceed like this:

1. Shut down the PLC and power it up again. If that fixes the problem, then the port was "hanging" electrically in a state it couldnt get out of. Maybe caused by electrical noise or voltage differences over the connection.

2. If 1. doesnt clear the problem, then reset the CPU and load the program from the memory card (if there is a memory card !). If this clears the problem then the port had been reconfigured in some way so it no longer matched your programming or HMI settings. Maybe caused by your HMI writing to some address that it should not.

3. If 1. and 2. doesnt clear the problem, then exchange the CPU. Consider to use a CPU with 2 PG ports, and to install overvoltage suppressors.

Good luck.
__________________
Jesper
3 strikes and you're out
  Reply With Quote
Old August 19th, 2004, 11:08 AM   #3
ayman metwally
Lifetime Supporting Member
Egypt

ayman metwally is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Cairo
Posts: 258
Thank you MrJesperMP for your reply,I apperciate that from you .

Procedure no.1 worked out and every thing is going fine right now.

Actullly i was thinking of this but i was feeling bad saying to my self :what will "shutting down and powering the PLC up" do in my situation ?

Now i konw, It did alot.

Thanks againg for your help.

Ayman
__________________
Ayman Metwally
  Reply With Quote
Reply
Jump to Live PLC Question and Answer Forum

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Programming Siemens WF470 Sander LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 13 July 20th, 2007 07:13 AM
Siemens S5 programming Shawn Cassidy LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 7 March 6th, 2006 07:16 AM
siemens S5 programming zezito LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 2 September 21st, 2004 10:26 AM
Two 135u in one S5 SIEMENS PLC ayman metwally LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 3 March 19th, 2004 04:43 AM
PC com port to S5 programming port (scada ) !! ayman metwally LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 6 January 27th, 2004 09:06 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:56 PM.


.