AB PLC5 coms

JDW

I have a DOS IPDS program that I can't get to communicate with a PLC5.
I keep getting "Fatal editor error number x0ffff"
I have never used it before so.....
Anybody have any suggestions?

JDW, is the computer running Windows or DOS? If it is running Windows as virtually all do these days then you need to configure a piece of software called Interchange. This is used to allow your computer to talk to the PLC through Windows.

Or if you have the latest version of 6200 (IPDS) then you can use RSLinx to do the same thing. I think the latest version is 5.32.4 or something like that.

Also, how are you communicating? Are you using a KTX card a PCMK card, the RS232 connection? How are you connecting from the computer to the PLC/SLC.

Be aware that this software was meant to run in DOS and getting it to run is certainly possible. It can just be a pain sometimes to do so.

OG

I keep a seperate PC for DOS programs only.
I can get the program to run in DOS.
I'm using the RS232 port.

I'm interested in what version of 6200-PLC5 you have (it's on the Main Screen) precisely what menu you're in, how the RS-232 communications is configured, and which Function Key you press just before the error appears.

I have three suggestions:

1. Make sure you're pointing toward a COM port that is available. If your computer only has COM1, for example, 6200-PLC5 software might give this error if configured for COM2. Be sure also that you're not running a TSR-type program (like Interchange) that might be using up the serial port resource for another purpose.

2. Make sure your serial settings are correct and match the PLC-5 serial port. Usually you just get a timeout, but I think this error is possible simply if the serial port settings don't match. One of the great features in AI-5 and in RSLinx (even in RSLinx Lite) is the ability to connect to a DF1 serial port and Auto-Detect it's settings.