AB RS Logix 500 Simple questions...

uptown47

Lifetime Supporting Member
Hi All

I'm brand new to AB (although very familiar with Siemens) and I'm using RS Logix 500. I've been asked to do some mods to a system. I need to identify what IO is free. How do I do this through the software?

Also, when I download to the PLC I don't want it to switch to STOP mode. Do I need to do all my mods in RUN mode in order to achieve this?

Many thanks

:)

Open the I/O data file and click on the useage button. If it is addressed in the program, it will have an X on that address. You can then right-click and find all. Also, just because the I/O is not used in the program that doesn't mean there is not something wired to it. I always make sure there is nothing landed on the terminal.

As for editing without stopping the program, that is where you have to do an online edit. Modify the rung, accept the edit, test the edit, then assemble the edit. This will prevent the process from shutting down.

Bruce

How do I find out which module is which address?

In S7 I would look at the hardware config to find out how each module in each slot is addressed. How do I do the same in AB?

Many thanks

Hello uptown47.

You cannot download a program without stopping the CPU.
In case your PLC is an ML1100 or an SLC5/03 or better, then you can edit online with no need to switch to STOP mode (is is called PROG mode).
So for minor changes, it is actually easier to make the changes online.
For bigger changes, you can still do it, but it takes some care and attention. You basically delete all the rungs that has to be changed, and paste the changed rungs from the offline file. When ready, you do the test-edits, and assemble-edits.
Notice that you cannot download new code or data files, or change the size of data files in RUN mode.

ML1000, ML1200, ML1500 and SLC5/01 and SLC5/02 do not have online editing. Therefore avoid these if possible.

uptown47 said:
How do I find out which module is which address?