analog signal into register is being maxed out before reaching scaled value?

mattyg

I'm pretty new to PLC's, so forgive me if I use the wrong terminology and whatnot. We have an issue at work where we have a flow meter that is scaled for 0 to 60 million gallons per day (MGD).
We simulated a 20 milliamp signal to verify our signal reaching our SCADA. When the 20 mA was applied, we got a flow reading of 47.184 MGD when 60 MGD was expected. In the logic when the 20 mA was applied, our analog value was correct at 32,000, so it seems like the problem is in the logic with the way the info i being stored in the register, maybe?

Can someone help me understand what is going on here and how I can get this to read correctly?

So...your raw counts are 32000? What is the range of the input raw value for you analog input? 6400-32000?
What does you scaling logic look like?

Sounds like an old TI 505 PLC and the 20% offset wasn't applied for 4-20ma signal. Although either way with a value of 32000 that's full scale and would still read 60.

Would help if the OP would identify the PLC and analog module.

Yeah, I'm an old TI guy, when he mentioned 32000, I reverted back to the good old days. TI 505's have built in scaling features, so not sure what their problem could be. I do not recommend it, but I have seen folks do all the scaling in an HMI or SCADA system.

The TI scale function has a 20% offset and Bipolar selection, Yes/No, so guessing if TI, the scaling block doesn't match the signal type.

CTI bought out the rights to the TI architecture and still going. I have customers to this day using them. Slowly migrating to Logix.

We are working on a Rx3i. We are set up to use a 4-20mA analog signal.

Attachments

• Headworks High flow scaling.png
    Headworks High flow scaling.png
    31.7 KB · Views: 26
I can't tell from what you showed of your logic, but when you divide 47,184,000 (Gallons per day) by 1440 (Minutes per day) you get 32766.66667