Are 'Smart Relays' PLC's

PeterW

In another forum, someone asked is a LOGO! a PLC and if not what are the differences.

I disagreed with the replies that a LOGO! is a small PLC, others felt I was wrong and it is a PLC.

Am I wrong?

Have LOGO!'s and other manufacturer's equivalents now progressed so much that they do perform the function of a small PLC so much so, that they can be regarded as PLC's.

I have never used one by the way, the smallest PLC's I have used over the last 10 years has been Momentum's. The smallest Siemens a S7300 but more normally a S7400 and the smallest AB a ControlLogix 63.

So really I have no experience on them.

Technically, PLC refers to a particular model of Allen Bradley Programmable Controllers. The term "PLC" is actually a trademark owned by AB. However, the term has become the "kleenex" of the automation world and AB has obviously not enforced the trademark.

Is a smart relay a programmable controller? Yes, it is. But there are other kinds of programmable controllers as well which are definitely not called PLCs (ranging from lawn sprinker controllers to DCS systems). So you can argue one side or the other until you are blue in the face - and you're not likely to change the minds of those who think a smart relay is a PLC or the minds of those who think a smart relay is not a PLC.

For the record, I'm in the "NOT A PLC" camp.... sort of.

Alaric said:
Technically, PLC refers to a particular model of Allen Bradley Programmable Controllers. The term "PLC" is actually a trademark owned by AB. However, the term has become the "kleenex" of the automation world and AB has obviously not enforced the trademark.

I'm sure your correct but I remember the late 70's when we first started getting some PLC's. We had Allen Bradley mini's they were called then (think later re-labelled PLC2-20) and IPC90's.

Both at that time were referred to as PLC's (Programmable Logic Controllers).