ASCII Communications

Mtech

I'm looking to use some keyence LJ-G200 sensors with a Compact Logix L32,coupled with a 1769-ASCII card. Two sensor devices will be used making me need to ports. I am new to the use of ASCII format. I am starting to collect pdf's and sample codes to learn how data is sent and received. I havent purchased anything yet so I dont have a sensor play with so I figured I would research as much as I can. Is there any ASCII guru's out there that can pass on some pointers? It looks like RS5000 provides some decent samples under v15 but things still look Greek to me. Thanks in advance.

Stuck

I am stuck on trying to send the ascii commands to the keyence device (Lj-G5001). I changed my setup to reflect a 1769-generic module,(from a 1769-ASCII) and found a sample code to use for this setup. Once I done this I was able to receive auto commands from the keyence device. I am only wanting to send switch program commands. In the String Browser I am entering my command as PW00CR. But all that is returned is ER,ER,88. If someone gets a few minutes could you please take a look at the attached program to see what I am doing wrong? Thanks in advance.

First, you do not need to use generic module, the module profile does exist for 1769-ASCII unders speciality module.

2nd, when dealing with ASCII, it's best to not jump in programming the PLC. Start with Hyperterminal or other terminal program and get the ASCII sequence right, THEN, figure out how to have the PLC do what you just done on the terminal program.

Also, there are other 1769-ASCII post here, I would read up on those:

http://www.plctalk.net/qanda/showthread.php?t=20065

Your life will be a lot easier if you make a breakout cable and place a pc in the middle to monitor the comm data on TX and RX. You can easily make a breakout cable. Check out the diagram and description at the bottom of this link: http://airborn.com.au/serial/rs232.html

Use resident hyperterm on the pc as the comm monitor.