AutoCad or AutoCad Electrical

I've been using NanoCad pro for about 5 years now and like it much better than Autocad LT

So yes the bulk of the work I would be doing would be add ons and edits to equipment from our integrators and the ones Ive spoken with all use AutoCad or AutoCadLt. Does NanoCad use DWG format so I could easily import and edit Auto Cad projects? Would you mind elaborating what it is you like about Nano Cad verses Auto Cad?

Thanks

Last edited:
I too would recommend SkyCad.

DWG editing programs, like AutoCAD, Draftsight, NanoCad etc Have ancient user interfaces and are terribly un-intuitive. Plus you are literally just making a drawing. It's one step above MS Paint.

Electrical CAD software on the other hand understands that you are making an electrical schematic and handles all kinds of things for you.

Really check out SkyCad, they have a free version. I love it.

Work Smart, Not Hard. AutoCad is not smart.

P.S. No I don't work for them or anything, I just really love their software. It makes my life so much easier. I can focus on my designs rather than trying to make my schematic look nice and be consistent.

P.P.S. You can export your drawing to DWG after you are done if you want...

Last edited:
The nice thing using ACADE is the integration with Inventor.
ACADE you can use LISP to automatic generate drawings.
The learn curve is high but at the end you have powerful tool.
Autocad is really powerful
If you are learning you can download it for free at Autodesk Education, no expiration date.

We migrated to electrical when it wasn't stable yet and i remember how a pita it was. We had peoples skilled with conventional acad that were bypassing automated stuff making frankenstein drawings mixed from both.... Once we started to trust it, things went fine. We took use of automated things like wires numbers and contact quantity etc. We have built our own data bloc and now it is working so good that i would never go back...