Books of the Bible

Zecreamdix

Hello,
I am a Sunday School Teacher in my spare time. At a young age we begin working with our kids in attempt to teach the Books of the Bible and in order. I have a friend that has a CNC Router in which I was thinking of having him take a 4" x 3" sheet of oak and have him mill in the Books and give me a hole for an input push button to be installed. A corresponding second for a green light for a correct choice. This will make me need 70 Inputs and 70 Outputs. Is there a way to make this work without spending $1000.00 on expansion slots or using an HMI?

Some random thoughts on this:

-This might be a good application for a Raspberry Pi or Arduino, in a few possible ways. I haven’t seen that much GPIO on one setup, but I expect it’s available. As an input device, one could be setup to output a string to a PC or PLC that corresponds to the input actuated.

-Two pole switches are common. To reduce inputs, you could multiplex switches to each turn on a unique pair on inputs. Sixteen inputs would provide 64 double inputs plus 16 singles to do 80 switches.

-Multiplexing outputs isn't as friendly. It would take a bunch of relays to multiplex an array of outputs provided you only will ever need one light at a time.

-The common PLC way to do this would be all touch screen. That’s fine for industry, but a wooden board sounds really cool and special. I hope you do it.

-Once upon a time I might consider doing something like this with 7400 series logic. Nowadays, a FPGA would be the way to go. Maybe not so practical for a one-off system, but it’s another random thought

-So, with a Click… one 16 point in, five 16 point out, is about $380-ish, plus the controller. And a bunch of switches and lights… And a power supply… And wire it…

How are you going to drill 70 holes and have 70 readable text strings in a 4" x 3" sheet of oak? I presume you mean 4' x 3'!