Buying 2nd hand plc for learning

Hi Ron,

I am 25, i guess not too young or too old. Actually i did many industrial projects that is related to automation but all the time i did only the software portion e.g monitoring certain DM on PLC , writing to certain dm address and PLC would add accordingly to what i have input. I have done some Scada projects too with standard scada software Citect, ifix etc. Experience wise i have around 2+ years experience in software development. During my 2+ years of work, i became interested in stuffs like PLC and electronics then i started learning PLC off the web from some tutorials and i actually did attend a 5 days course which i signed up for but didn't benefit much for me as it is like a step by step course which you just follow the book and do things step by step. Then now i think maybe i should just get a simple used PLC not too costly 1 and learn by doing some small projects with it. i am aware that even if learning on a PLC , i might not be able to handle a real PLC project so it is just pretty much for the knowledge and of course if given a chance in the future to program for a plc project i would try to put to use what i have learned. Frankly speaking, i don't really want to be just a PLC guy but i would want to be someone who can handle with PLC as well as PC software developments which i think most of the guys in the forums are. IT development is still my passion and my career path consideration. PLC - self value adding i hope.

You might have trouble programming these older 90 micros.
It has been my experience that I cannot change the logic without the PLC going into a fault. I can go on line with them and view the program without trouble but if I attempt to change the program, the PLc goes into fault mode. I can change the program with an older laptop but not with my newer Gateway even with the Socket PCMCIA-RS232 converter. I can use the Socket on the old laptop and have no trouble.

PLC Direct to the rescue