Can someone please help me understand this?

Alecias1991

If a programmable controller controls the operation of
a motor, what connects motor control to the PC?

A) Line voltage
B) I/O device
C) Modem
D) RS232 cable

This was a question on my test. I had B as the answer, but my instructor marked it wrong and selected D) RS232 cable as the correct answer. I am new to all this.

Isn't i/o what connects the controller to the process/motor being controlled?

I am self-teaching myself and have an instructor who test me or clarifies things.

You have to get clarification on what the instructor means by "motor control". From his answer, it sounds like he means a variable frequency drive, in which case either B or D could be correct. You could make an argument that an across-the-line starter is also a "motor control", and they aren't very often connected to PCs by an RS232 cable.
That also assumes that he means the abbreviation "PC" to refer to the programmable controller. If he really means for "PC" to refer to a personal computer and not the programmable controller, then he's just being an a$$hole.

Yet again another very poorly written question, so we have PLC that controls a motor, but a PC, how does this connect.
Firstly if a motor is controlled by a PLC then the Pc must be some sort of interface i.e. a Scada or acting as an HMI, there is no clarity in this question.
The PLC controls the motor, the PC (assuming what is meant that the operator interface is from the PC) only reads the status or sends commands to the PLC to control the motor.
Again what is to say that the connection is 232 or modem (which is ambiguous in it'self as the modem will probably be 232) then there are other types of communication i.e. Ethernet, 485/422 etc.
I'm shaking my head here, this is the sort of question that might have been relevant many years ago. up & coming students are definitely going to struggle with their careers.