Clearing Register for Daily Data Logger

mromanzo

Hey guys,

I'm still pretty new to PLC's in general. For a program on RSLogix 500 with a micro1400 and pvp400, we are currently logging data for parts produced daily using integers and counters. Every day at 7am, the counter resets and logs a new file to start the next CSV file. Say we have 10,000 parts on the counter Saturday, shut off the machine. Turn it back on Monday, the register is still set at 10,000 and adds to Monday until it resets Tuesday.

Is there a way to have that register clear if the date changes?

Welcome to the club

Do they cycle the power on Monday? if yes you could use a CLR instruction with a first scan bit... but a word of caution if someone cycles power any other time it will also clear the register, you could also have a clear data button on the HMI? then the operator could clear it?

They turn the power on either Sunday evening or early Monday morning. I've discussed with the controls engineer that I work with how we could figure a way around the CLR instruction and we're both a little shy to use it. Mostly because the operators may cycle power on the machine during the week for any glitches they encounter or if something faults out & we're unavailable. Not sure if that would be an option but I could bring it up again.

I agree with the_msp, the 1400's have a real time clock built in to them so you just need to pick a time and day that would be best for you and use the CLR instruction to run at that time

You could also store the current value before you reset. That way if for some reason you did a reset by mistake, you would have the old value saved.

Sounds like you have something programmed already for 7am, but sometimes the machine is down until after 7am, so you miss the trigger.
You could set up logic to reset on first scan IF it is after 7am, that might be the ticket.

Last edited: