CompactLogix DeviceNet configuration

technolog

Lifetime Supporting Member
We refurbish tube end formers and benders. I'm currently working on an Addison TEF. It has a 1769-L32E with a 1769-SDN DeviceNet scanner (see attached photo). I'm an absolute novice on DeviceNet.

There are two items (apart from the scanner) on the DeviceNet network - two Rexroth VT-HACD-1-10/V0/1-D-0 (R901040277). These are hydraulic motion controllers, one for each of two axes. Each HACD has a Balluff SSI magnetostrictive position transducer connected to it.

On axis 1, I'm seeing the feedback in the PLC, albeit not in the registers I was expecting, but that's easily fixable. I'm seeing no feedback from axis 2. When I swap the HACD cards over (so that axis 1 (DeviceNet address 1) HACD is connected to axis 2 feedback, I see the axis 2 feedback in the axis 1 PLC location, so I know the transducer and cabling are working.

I tried opening RSNetWorx for DeviceNet (know nothing about it!). With it connected online to the scanner, I see the two HACD cards (see attached DN1 screen capture). When I do a diagnostic scan, I get green check marks although after 82 normal "scans", I get two minor recoverable faults (see DN2) - I don't believe this is anything to worry about as the feedback on the working axis appears to work indefinitely.

When I look at the scanner device properties on the Scanlist tab, it seems to only show address 1 as being scanned (see DN3). The Input tab shows the feedback populating the registers that I'm seeing change in the PLC in response to transducer movement (see DN4). The Output tab is also populated with the position command from the PLC to the HACD motion controller. This looks to me like the crux of my problem - address 2 isn't in the scanlist. I poked around, trying to figure out a way to add it but cannot for the life of me figure out how to do it. Can anyone offer any insight into my problem and how to fix it, please?