Compactlogix L24-ER-QBIB to Controllogix L55 with ENTBT/A

desertsurf520

Lifetime Supporting Member
Im new to Ethernet/IP so I expected some issues but I am not sure if what I am trying to do is even possible. I believe these 2 PLCs should be able to communicate AND I can add the controllogix ENBT to the compactlogix project but I cannot add the compactlogix to the L55 project. I am trying to set up MSG instructions between the 2 controllers. I was having time out errors between them but then I set the com module to none instead of Rack Optimized. Everything else is setup correctly I believe. I am not faulting out on time but I feel I am doing SOMETHING wrong and maybe because I cannot add the compactlogix to the controllogix project. I guess there may be different ways to do this but I appreciate any direction and input.

You should not need to add the CompactLogix to the ControlLogix tree, just set up the message with the correct path, there are examples in the user manuals.

If you are trying to set up produced/consumed then you will need the processors in each others tree, as the L24 is a lot newer than the L55 you should be able to add a L32E to the L55 tree and then that should work, search for posts by Ken Roach about this.

I'm sure we discussed this a few weeks ago but now it's time to do it for real.

You don't need the controllers to be in one another's I/O trees just to exchange MSG instructions. You can fill out the CIP Path manually.

If you want to exchange Produced/Consumed Tags, you do need those connections to be configured in the I/O tree. The trick to getting a "newer" controller to work with an "older" one is to use an equivalent model as a placeholder.

When you have an older 1756-L55 or 1756-L6x and you want to put a CompactLogix from the past couple of generations into its I/O tree, the standard workaround is to put a 1769-L35E in the I/O tree in its place, with the same IP address.