Connecting to a Cellular Modem

rlvmaiden

Hi,
I'm trying to connect to a PLC remotely over the internet. It's a SLC 5/03 connected via serial to a IPn4G cellular modem (Microhard). I'm having trouble connecting to the modem through RSLinx on my laptop, I've been told I just need to punch in the modem's IP address and listening port into RSLinx but I'm having trouble figuring out how to do this. I'm pretty new to this stuff, and would really appreciate any help I can get.
Thanks

The usual way this works is that you have a software component on your PC that connects to the IP/Serial device (in your case, the Microhard modem) over IP, and presents a virtual serial port for use by your local PC software like RSLinx.

Rockwell Automation's serial drivers don't "tunnel across IP" themselves. Only a few expensive Ethernet/Serial devices like the Digi One IAP or Rockwell's 1761-NET-ENI are aware of the RA protocol and can unwrap the IP version and translate it to the serial version.

Does the Microhard documentation describe a virtual serial port utility ?

Is the cellular modem always on? If not, you need to call it or it needs to call a central server first. I'm not familiar with Microhard cell modems, but in the ancient past of 2006 I put a machine into a plant in Turkey that I had to actually dial directly with my laptop's modem like direct dial-up.

I've also used **** boxes where I connect to the **** server using their software and they dial the modem and handle that side for me (way easier and probably what you're using). That gave me a VPN connection to the machine's subnet (and, if it was an AB PLC, would have had it show up in RSLinx).

This is from the spec sheet I could find, there's more but this looked the most relevant:

Serial Port Server:

-Extensive Serial Port Support:
TCP Server & Client / UDP Server & Client /
Modus / PPP / SMS / SMTP / AT command
-(2) Com Ports with Extensive
RS232/485/422 support

Firewall:

NAT, NAT-T VPN tunneling, port for-