Constant Force Application, Getting Started

atoledob

Hello all, this is my first time working with a PLC and dealing with hardware, so please have patience with me.

I have an electric rod-style actuator driven by a rotary servo motor and a servo drive. The actuator will exert force on a platform that can slide up and down. The goal is always to maintain constant force applied onto the platform. I connected a load cell in line with the direction of force transmission between the end of the actuator and the platform surface (i.e., the load cell is sandwiched between both surfaces). Additionally, I purchased a load cell amplifier that can condition the 2 mV/V load cell signal into 0-5 V/RS485 output. Ultimately, the goal is to achieve force control via the PID functions available within the S7-1200 PLC. At the end of a test, I want the actuator to return to the initial position and zero torque (tare).

Here are the specific products I am using:

The servo drive has options for Torque control mode, Torque/Speed control mode, and Torque/Position control mode. I believe that I can accomplish my tasks with just the Torque control mode. From the attachment, I plan to use the following digital inputs EM2 (forced stop - decelerates the motor to a stop), SON (servo on), RES (reset any alarms), RS1 (forward rotation), and RS2 (reverse rotation). I will have ALM (alerts a malfunction) and RD (alerts system is ready to operate) for the digital outputs. I bought all the necessary pushbuttons, selector switches, and e-stop for these digital inputs and outputs.

A 50-pin pigtail connector will interface the servo drive and PLC. I have provided my attempt at a wiring diagram. Some specific confusions/questions are:
  1. Should the e-stop be wired to a DI or 24 VDC? I’ve seen two wiring diagrams with both cases.