Control/Compact Logix crash course

shoelesscraig

Nope, I'm not giving one, I'm hoping someone else will. ;)

I have LOTS of experience with RSLogix 500 and the processors that go with it (SLC/MicroLogix). We have them all over the plant and I have gotten plenty of practice going out and setting up the communications I need to communicate with them.

But, not so with the Control/Compact Logix platform. I have been using RSLogix 5000 for a while now with the 2 ControlLogix processors that run our plant. But, I always access the program from the same computer that was set up by our automation "contractor" when they installed the system. I never have to figure out which file has the documentation, set up communications, etc. Since it is our main system and the plant cannot run without it, we NEVER touch the hardware at all, and rarely mess with the program except to make minor online changes. So, I have searched the forum and read lots on the AB website, but I still have some basic questions for the experts (you guys) if you don't mind.

1. Is the documentation for Control/Compact Logix processors still saved on the computer and not in the processor (the same as a SLC or ML)?

2. The motion instructions in Logix 5000...are these strictly for use with AB servos (Sercos, is that right)?

3. If I want to get ethernet on a SLC, I use a 5/05 or an ethernet adapter. On ML I use the 1100 or 1400. On a Control or Compact Logix, am I correct in understand that you have to insert a card such a ENBT into the chassis and assign the IP address that I wish it to have??

4. I know in a SLC setup, you only have 1 processor and in a ControlLogix (and CompactLogix as well i believe) you can have more than 1. Why would you want to do this, and can either processor control the output/input modules that are also in the chassis? :confused:

Sorry it was long, thanks in advance!