Controllogix T300 Motion Control Setup Problem

IPSIBilly

Hello all,

I am presently trying to setup a motion control project with a Logix 5563 processor and a Siemens 6RA70 DC Master using a SST-PFB-CLX Profibus card. I have 5 of the drives all with CB cards in them and I am able to communicate with all but the motion drive. I have a T300 board as well as the CB in it but it is giving me a F116 fault saying that it is not receiving good communications from the PLC. I can see the drive using the SST drive setup software but when I monitor messages received or sent through the PLC or Drive Monitor I do not see any information coming back. It seems that I have not setup something correctly and I am new to this type of platform so any advice on sending and receiving data to and from the drive would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks in advance for any responses

Is the T300 mounted in slot 2 (far right)and is the CBP2 mounted in an adapter board in slot 3(middle slot of the LBA)?
It must be like this to work.
Is there 3 lights blinking On and Off at the same time on the CBP2?

Last edited:
Yes the T300 is mounted to the far right in slot 2. It also has an EPROM card mounted in it. There is an adaption board mounted in the middle (slot 3). The CPB2 is mounted in the middle on the bottom slot which is G I believe. The CPB2 has a red, yellow, and green light all blinking on and off at the same time which I believe means the Profibus is happy, but the drive is faulted with an F116 which says it's not receiving good data

Which MS3xx software are you using?
For example, in the MS340 F116 has nothing to do with a comm. fault.
Just curious, what made you pick the T300 instead of the T400?
The T300 is not really recommended for the 6RA70.
I have used T300/T400's for 6SE70's but only T400 for 6RA70.