ControlNet Communication Errors

jrsnydley

Hello all,

I was setting up a network with a local chassis containing a 1756-L62 controller and a 1756-CNB ControlNet bridge and a remote chassis containing a 1756-CNB and a 1756-ENBT Ethernet bridge. Connected to this ENBT is a 1794-AENTR Flex I/O adapter and a 2711P-B7C4D8 PanelView Plus 6 700. A rough drawing of the network configuration is attached.

When I downloaded the program I was getting a Code 16#0317 Connection not scheduled error. I uploaded the ControlNet configuration from the scanner and I enabled edits and saved the network configuration. Now the error is gone in the controller's I/O configuration but I have no communication to my PanelView.

To say I'm no expert at networking would be an understatement. Looking at the network configuration does anybody see any possible issues?

a) Probably there's a problem with the shorcut in the PV application (FTV Studio -> RSLinx Enterprise -> Runtime tab).

b) Is it possible to move the ENBT module to the main chassis? I think this way you can avoid a bottleneck in the controlnet.

Possible yes, just not as convenient. I double checked the connection in FactoryTalk View Studio. Everything appears to be fine.

I think I found my answer on another thread. Ken Roach explained that there can only be one network connection between I/O devices and the CPU on Ethernet I/P and ControlNet architecture. So, I will have to run a little longer cable I suppose and put an ENBT in the local chassis.

You've got it exactly right; for I/O connections, there can only be a 1756 backplane between the CPU and the "root network bridge module", in this case the 1756-CNB for the I/O devices on the ControlNet network.

When you add that 1756-ENBT, that's now a "root bridge module" for the EtherNet/IP network, so the ControlNet link can't be in the middle.

CIP unscheduled messages can traverse that link; the PanelView Plus should be able to connect to the CPU from that location.