conveyor reject tracking

sprek

I am doing a new project were I need to keep track of bad parts( basically upside down) on a conveyor that I want to keep tracking on if someone changes the belt speed.

I have Two sensors that trigger at the same time for bad part
also I have an encoder with only the a-phase hooked up

I have never used an encoder before and am not sure were to start. What would be the best way to set this up? Do I use the encoder to run a shift register and if so what would the best way of thinking during programming? I know the sensors are 778 pulses away from the reject chute. Do I need to figure this number into the setup or do I need to think differently

I could use some direction on how to program this to work.

I take pride in doing new things and I challenged myself to figure this out

I am using the Eaton ELC-PC12 plc. I am not wanting to have the program written for me but to help me learn the way to do this correctly

P1010855.JPG

P1010856.JPG

Obviously you have a fairly simple setup there, but think of a more complex one, a greater distance between detection and blow-off, the possibility of more than one reject tagged items between detection and the blow-off.

Lets think of this in a non-PLC world

Put yourself in the position of the sensor. You spot a bad one and it is, right now, 778 pulses away from the blow-off. You can't be concerned with keeping track of that. So you write down on a piece of paper that a reject is coming and it's 778 pulses away. You then hand that to the blow-off guy. Then you go back to watching the PEs.

Now you are the blow-off guy. You get a piece of paper saying that a reject is coming and that it's 778 pulses away. AND, every so often, you know that a pulse has happened. You go to that piece of paper and subtract 1 from the number. What will you do after 778 pulses and the number on the paper has just been changed to zero? I think you can guess. AND, you can thrown that paper away.