Crimson 3 Symbol animation

Chattahoochee

I am using Crimson 3 and I am still learning how to use it.
I have used the primitives when I needed to make a button, panel, etc flash in applications I have created so far but now I would like to use the two "cool fans" in the symbols resource pane but I cannot figure out how to get one to flash on and off to give the look of the fan running. I can do this using logic in the PLC program but I know there has to be a much simpler way to do it using Crimson 3.
I know this is probably a basic question but it's got me stumped.
Thanks.

You can use the image object, to cycle through the two images. Then use an expression , for the image selection. Such as FanRunning * (getsec(getnow())%2)

This will give you a modulus of two based on the time in seconds (0 for even, 1 for Odd) Multiplying it by a flag tag will cause it only to cycle when your tag is on. There are other ways to do it, but this is what I would use for a two image rotation

Last edited:
You can use the image object, to cycle through the two images. Then use an expression , for the image selection. Such as FanRunning * (getsec(getnow())%2)

This will give you a modulus of two based on the time in seconds (0 for even, 1 for Odd) Multiplying it by a flag tag will cause it only to cycle when your tag is on. There are other ways to do it, but this is what I would use for a two image rotation

If I might offer a slight tweak, I'd use DispCount.0 to update the fan. If this is too fast (it shouldn't be), you can change it to DispCount.1.

DispCount.0 will change the image everytime the display updates and DispCount.1 will update it every two screen updates.

As mentioned above, multipling the result by a tag indicating that the fans is running will only animate the tag when the Fan is ON.

I am also learning and have discovered that trigger actions can be recursive ..... which is usefull for cycling values.