DH+ on 1784-PKTX issues

mylespetro

Hey everyone,

Ran into an issue on a customer's system a couple times recently and wanted to check if anyone might have any clue what's going on.

The system is a VersaView 1200P industrial computer (32-bit Windows XP) using RSView 32 communicating on DH+ using a 1784-PKTX card to a SLC 5/04.

Last week the customer called and said that there was an issue with the HMI, so I went out and took a look and I was able to tell by looking that the communications between the two had been lost. The runtime was still running but all of the graphics were blank like they typically are (in FTView anyways, I have very little experience with RSView 32) when there are no communications between the HMI and controller. I looked at the SLC and noticed that the DH+ light was blinking green very slowly, which I believe indicates that it's the only node on the network.

I checked the wiring and noticed that they weren't using blue hose cable, and also there were no termination resistors on either end. I put the resistors in and then checked for communications, but had no luck. I then restarted the HMI and when it came back on communications were re-established. We got a call yesterday afternoon that the same thing had happened again, so I grabbed a length of blue hose and brought it to site, swapping out the original cable for the blue hose. This also still didn't fix the issue, so I investigated further and noticed that when I browsed the network on the AB_KT-1 driver, the SLC was showing up with a red X through it. I then hit Configure Drivers, and the KT-1 driver was showing something along the lines of the following:

AB_KT-1 DH+ Sta:34 ID:0 Ch1A ERROR Running