DirectSOFT 6 Programming help, PLEASE?

elfmanp

I'm hurting here and really need help.

I have an old machine running a AutomationDirect PLC 405. I have a data collection system that is successfully gathering data from this PLC, and from the KEPWare OPC Server I have been able to gleam from the KEP tags the various PLC Memory addresses. Many appear in DirectSOFT XRef View and in the Ladder. However, there are a range of tags -> addresses that do not appear in the XRef, or in the Ladder - I have tried multiple times to search for these tags, but cannot find any of them (V4120-V4133, V4140-V4153, and V4160-V4173) Many of these are updating on the Data Collection, but I cannot figure out how the PLC is interacting with these memory addresses - turns out at least a couple of them are swapped and I need to make sure the numbers are good in the PLC. I am relatively new to DirectSOFT 6 and AutomationDirect hardware in general. Please, help?

There are 961 rungs in the one ladder program. :( Yes, I drew the short straw. :eek:

I feel your pain. I have one customer with a plant controlled by a DL-405 and it communicates with a DL-250 via radio modem which is networked to about a dozen other remote stations and all the data gets pumped into this main PLC.

I actually had that file opened earlier since we are going to add another station to that system in the near future. Now I can't get Directsoft to run...might need to reboot.

Some V memory might be written by external devices, some might be taken up by analog cards. Some of that is prescribed, and some is configurable. I am not greatly experienced with these controllers, but if you can zip and attach your project, some of the forum members here are really good with Directsoft and can probably help you nail it down.