Directsoft5 Timer

roxusa

Lifetime Supporting Member
I am new to the Directsoft5 programing structure and have a question about a timer value setting. My program I am looking at has TMR, T100 with a register of V2022. When I look up V2022 under the Value's Tab online, it says it has a value of 10 in BCD. With this being a 10th of a second increment timer, would that be 2/10th of a second, I thought Bcd counted 0-1-10-11-100 and so on,
However this block lets me change the value by integer increments of 1
10-11-12-13 etc. Im lost, any help will be appreciated.

BCD is just how the data is stored into memory. It's all 1s and 0s down there.

BCD is Binary Coded Decimal.
It stores each of the number places in a nibble (group of 4 binary bits). So, for your example of V2022 = 10 the Bit field would look like 0000 0000 0001 0000 when stored in BCD.
As far as your interface with the timer, you're just inputting how many deci-seconds the timer will run (Its Preset) as an integer.

So, to actually answer your question :ROFLMAO: If there is a value of 10 in V2022, then your timer will run for 1 second.

thank you, so even though the box is checked to be BCD the number shown (10) is just the number of 10ths of a seconds so if I change it to 12 it will be 1.2 seconds.
Thanks again

thank you, so even though the box is checked to be BCD the number shown (10) is just the number of 10ths of a seconds so if I change it to 12 it will be 1.2 seconds.
Thanks again

You've got it. The BCD check box is there just to tell the timer block how to interpret the data stored in the memory. Depending on what loads the data into V2022, it may have been more efficient to use BCD instead of BIN. I bet if you unchecked the BIN box in the timer block, you would see your preset change to 16, even though the source data would remain the same.