Drag racing timing program.

Sounds like a fun event. Lots of drag strips are being closed because of noise. Nice of a town to allow a day or so for fun.

Your system looked like it was close to complete. I would have used AB stuff and RSView but hey it looks like you got real close. Excel is not too bad to deal with if you have the communications drivers.

As I said in previous reply, I'm a newbie in PLC field. I have learn by what I have in hand so GE fanuc stuff was there. I don't know anything about alen bradley but I think they are too much expensive for low field application like mine.

Now, everytime I work on a project, I go for AD stuff. I don't have to pay 6758436289 distributor world wide if I can go on by myself with projects.

But yeah it was a fun events but now it's past because the ROI was not really good...for them.

Here is the link of the event:
http://cf.geocities.com/dragsderuestejustine/index2.htm

Last edited:
The scan time was near 4-6 ms. For the variability, I don't know but it was working well. Anyway, nobody knows it could have variability except me. Also, I think a variability of max 8ms wouldn't be a problem for that project so it was useless to told them so far.

I saw that, on the speed, it was... you know the resolution wasn't near perfection but it was working for us. Speed was only a number, it was count in the winning process only in the worse case of, let say a same estimated times and same reaction time, the speed would kick one off... I build the system so it would give me a winner anytime, any situation. I had 12 "imbriqued" conditions to choose a winner.

It was the biggest project for me to learn on. Some guyz that run drag racing events often,told me that my system was awesome for a kid that had never runned a drag race. I must say, I'm proud of what I've done.

Last edited:
Peter Nachtwey said:
What is the scan time?
What is the variability of scan time?
How much difference does a millisecond make to the measured speed?