ETHERNET. Process network vs office network.

idell

Hello dear experts. Now I'm leading a contradictory discussion with main IT administrator of company that we developed an automation system, about network topology. The system has 5 Ethernet nodes - 2 PLC's and 3 Operator panels. My opinion is that the automation system should be in a different subnets than company network, but admin insists to put in the same subnet with all company's computers (including office PC's) and devices. As an automation engineer i meet difficulties to explain to IT admin my position, but my "engineer flair" tells me that I'm right. Could you share your experience about this?

In my opinion, the automation network should be on a separate physical network, not just a separate logical network !

The logical addressing of the automation system really depends on who is responsible for maintaining and administering it. If the IT guys want to be on duty when the production foreman calls at 3AM because a PLC quit communicating, then they can administer the automation network.

There's also the issue of performance and network loading: can your automation network handle the changes in performance when somebody starts streaming video through the office network, or begins a network backup on a server, and loads down the Ethernet switch ?

The security threat is overestimated for many enterprises; an enemy hacker probably doesn't want to disrupt operations at my french fry factory. But if you're running a power plant, or treating water, or processing anything hazardous, there is probably an industry association pushing you to improve your network security, including that of the automation system.

There are many dozens of whitepapers and studies on this topic and all of them agree that you should have some degree of separation between the process network and the enterprise network.

Some examples:

http://www.automationworld.com/images/sponsored_content/wp-citect-scada.pdf