Forgive me...rookie question

shoelesscraig

Ok, so I've got a decent amount of experience working with Logix 5000, but I'm a little fuzzy on the details of something.

I know that Logix 500 processors scan top to bottom and then update outputs. I've got lots of experience there. I also know that the newer Logix 5000 processors do this differently, updating I/O differently.

The other day I ran into a program where someone had written 2 simple rungs. The first moved an integer (say 3 for example) to a DINT. The rung below that moved another integer (say 10 for example) to the same DINT. Both rungs were true, and the DINT had "10" in it. Basically, the last rung won. This is what I expect from a Logix 500 processor, but I didn't think that you could count on the "last rung wins" scenario in Logix 5000...?? So, I'm a little confused.

My guess is that maybe the ladders are still scanned the same way as in 500, top to bottom, and that its just the physical I/O that are updated throughout the scan, but I'm not sure. Can I still program using the "last rung wins" theory in 5000 when my rung is not dealing with physical inputs or outputs?

Somebody school me!

Nothing has changed for how the logic is scanned and when a tag updates. Last rung still wins.

For physical outputs, they are updated at the end of a task similar to how the 5/500 system work. But, they also update at a user defined timed interval.

For a remote module, the RPI is the number that matters.
There is a great graphic on page 141 of the following manual:

http://literature.rockwellautomation.com/idc/groups/literature/documents/um/1756-um001_-en-p.pdf

In that doc you will see that the biggest difference is actually when inputs update.

OG

From my understanding, your comments are correct. You can use a Synchronous Copy (CPS) to move your Inputs to a DINT, and use them so your Input Status doesn't change during your PLC Scan. You can also use a CPS to update the Outputs at the end of your Scan.

Stu....