Ftview Dynamic Parameter List/File

mr_sleepy

Hi all. I'm fairly new to bradley (Just under a year) and i'm doing my first project from start to finish and came up against a head scratcher on FTView 8. I need to be able to pass a dynamic pointer via a parameter file so that i can save on creating several copies of the same screen.

Does anyone know if its possible to use a string variable datatype as a parameter field and pass the actual contents of the string as a parameter and not the path to the string itself?

My project is split up into basically identical stations with identical kit and programs in each part.

If i pass

Station_1.object_1
Station_1.object_2
Station_1.object_3
Station_2.object_1
Station_2.object_2
Station_2.object_3

As direct tags in the parameter file under say #1 then it works perfect but what i want to do is pass the first part "station_1" via a string datatype which i will set via a macro when the user selects which station they are looking at. That way i can dynamically handle the no of stations and reuse the same screens. Sounds like it should be easy enough but i havent quite cracked it yet.

I searched around the forums here and on the RA knowledgebase but didnt find anyone with the same problem.

Any ideas?

Why not make multiple Parameter files. The Goto Button or the List Selector have entries for parameters. You would open the same screen every time and load the parameter file needed for each station. You can make your parameter file in excel and search and replace Station numbers to create additional files. Then copy and paste into FT

Because we have 2 menu pages to access some of the objects. We need
To remember at least 1 parameter so we can ensure all pages are pointing at the same station. That's why I wanted to use a variable as a parameter. What I would like to do, is pass the value in the variable as a parameter and not the path to the variable. It must be possible but I just can't figure it out at the moment.