GE Fanuc 90-30 XP virtual machine issues

CRom11

Hi,

my client is using an old XP laptop to connect to GE Fanuc 90-30 using the Logicmaster 90-30 v.9.02 (I think, is there a way to verify this?).
I don't have much experience with the Logicmaster and only some with the Prophecy ME so please bear with me.
I have converted the laptop to VMWare Workstation and after some issue with triggering the activation on the XP itself and few (many) phone calls with Microsoft I've sorted the licencing.
My issue now is that the VM is not connecting to the PLC. I'm using the Panasonic toughbook with real serial port and existing cable the guys on site use for the old laptop. Can't get any USB to serial cables to work with Logicmaster only with Prophecy. Apparently there's some conversion that needs to be done to get the PLC to work with Prophecy and they've got some outrageous quote to get it done so they decided not to. As I said I have very little experience to comment on this.

Anyway, would anyone have any advice on some settings to check in the VM to connect to the PLC? As I said the physical machine connects almost immediately after starting the Logicmaster software and going online, the VM does not and I'm not sure what the issue is.

Last edited:
I've not got any experience with that software - the only GE Fanuc I've ever played with was so old it was backed up and restored using an audio cassette and a tape deck.

But in more broad, general terms - my guess is that there's something not happening correctly with your serial port passthrough. Having a physical serial port is great if your software is installed on the host, but if you're using a VM, I find a good-quality USB-serial adaptor to be a safer bet, because you can connect it directly to the VM, and install its drivers on the VM, rather than relying on the host to pass the traffic through correctly. Have you got a USB-serial adaptor handy to try?