GXDev: If I write some code, will it overwrite the PLC code?

Mas01

Hi, complete novice here. GXDeveloper:

I work in a test facility controlled by Q-series PLC.

I want to do some self-training on ladder logic.

If I write an example small piece of ladder logic and convert it and write it to the PLC CPU (as per the training material), will it overwrite the PLC software that's already on there that controls the rig?

Daft question, I know, but I want to make sure the rig doesn't grind to a halt because I wrote some small code. Obviously I will give my code/project a different name to the rig control software.

How can I run a software simulator to see what happens i.e. lamps going on/off, timers and counters incrementing etc.?

Thanks

Yes it will if this is a new project, If you have the existing project or an upload from the PLC you can modify it and then download it but if you create a new project with just a bit of code then it will overwrite it.
Suggestions:
If you have a copy of the code that is in the PLC already then compare it with the PLC to make sure it is up to date, if there only a few small changes then upload it to your PC & save it as a new filename. If your backup (assume you have one) is up to date then save it as a new file, do your mods & download it this way you will still have a backup of the original. You can do on-line changes but only if the original is up to date with what is in the PLC. For an online change (just small changes like a couple of inserted rungs then change to edit mode, and do an on-line change), this will not stop the processor but add the extra code to the original. If this is a test rig then I think you need a bit of practice, do not do it on a live system without having a way back as your not experienced.