Help in Wiring Interposing Relay

TahirQ

In a project,I am using an Output Card where I have been advised to use 24VDC interposing relays to give output signals to field elements. I have never used an interposing relay before.
Can somebody give me some information on what is the right method to wire an interposing relay with output card and Field elements (Actuators,Valves?. I have looked it up but have not found anything specific to my problem.

output1 -> 21 (NC-contact relay 2)
22 (NC-contact relay 2) --> A1 (relay 1)

output2 -> 21 (NC-contact relay 1)
22 (NC-contact relay 1) --> A1 (relay 2)

Hello,
Attached is a crude drawing of relay coil fed from PLC Ouput, and field device wired through the relay contact.

I only used one contact in this drawing N/O but you should get the idea. (did this in a rush I just got off shift and want to get out of here before they want me to do something else tonight)

Did not know what voltage you are using but it will wire all the same just select the proper relays for the voltage you are bring from the plc and size them for the current your field device will draw.

With the relays in the circuit you can also power the relay coil with a Low voltage say 24volt from the PLC and use a higher voltage 220V for example through the relay contact to power the field devices if nessisary.
Good Luck
BCS

With the relays in the circuit you can also power the relay coil with a Low voltage say 24volt from the PLC.
Many PLCs have a built-in 24 VDC supply, but it may not be large enough to power external relay and solenoid devices. If there is an external 24 VDC power supply for the PLC, with a large-enough volt-amp rating, then it can be used for your external devices.

One of the first places to check is in the User Manual for your PLC. Many times there will be a circuit for using interposing relays.

An interposing relay is simply a in-between device that relays a small signal to switch a larger current.

Last edited: