Help me with a preset time value ?

KAMEL ELSAYED

Hello,

I WANT TO MAKE THE PRESET TIME VALUE ( TV ) CHANGEABLE WHEN THE TIMER IS RUNNING .

EXAMPLE : THE START INPUT CHANGES FROM "0" TO "1" AND THE TIMER RUNS FOR THE PRESET TIME FOR EXAMPLE (300 SEC) I WANT TO CHANGE IT TO ANY OTHER VALUE BEFORE IT REACHES ( 0 SEC ).

ALSO I NEED TO KNOW HOW I CAN ENTER AREAL VALUE TO PRESET TIME (TV).

Thanks a lot

Kamel

The first rule in posting a specific question is to tell us what PLC make and model you are using....

I also suggest you switch CAPS off, it makes it appear that you are SHOUTING.

Sorry I can't help with Siemens....

In the Allen-Bradley/Rockwell world you can simply move new values into the .PREset register of a timer, as and when you want to.

I'm sure experienced Siemens guys will step in (pun intended)....

I have to admit that I have no field experience with Siemens programming yet (a decade of A-B, and everytime I use Step7 or TIA I want to add another..), but based on what I've learned in school what you want needs further programming...

Timer presets are typically stored as S5Time data types, without additional logic you are not able to use a real value as a preset for a timer. Basically the data type stores a BCD preset value of 0-999 together with a time base of 10ms up to 10s. It may be easy to convert a REAL value of a given time base but it will get more complex if you have to calculate the time base for any given REAL value (e.g. A value ranging from 0.01s to 60s).

S5Time Data Type:
https://support.industry.siemens.com/cs/document/56243/storing-the-s5time-data-type?dti=0&lc=en-WW

A quick search brought up this thread about converting REAL values for use as a preset:
https://support.industry.siemens.co...e-changed-from-wincc/54165?page=0&pageSize=10

As the timer functions count down from TW there is no easy way to apply a new preset while the timer is active, you will have to restart the timer to apply the new preset.