Help, please explain a PLC program to me

Hi, I am new to PLC's and I have a program that I need a little help with an explanation of how it runs line by line. I understand the overview of what it does but I would love if someone could break it down line by line and tell me how it is operating.

Thanks, David.

PLC 1.jpg PLC 2.jpg PLC 3.jpg PLC 4.jpg PLC 5.jpg

Greetings David and welcome to the forum.

Do you have a copy of the .ACD plc program file. The pictures you posted aren't very clear.

RsLogix's Instruction Help explain each instruction in detail. To understand the system and put it in context we need:

- Functional Description.
- P&ID diagram
- Electrical diagram.

eeks, MCR and JUMP... I sure hope this isn't a real program.

I will see if I cant obtain the actual program file if not better pictures later tonight. Those were actualy scanned copies of printed black and white photos.

RsLogix's Instruction Help explain each instruction in detail. To understand the system and put it in context we need:

- Functional Description.
- P&ID diagram
- Electrical diagram.

eeks, MCR and JUMP... I sure hope this isn't a real program.

It is a program that runs a trainer robot arm, a conveyer and a rotating rack. It is supposed to spin a rack around that has 18 slots in it. The robot arm is supposed to pick a part off of the rotating rack then put it on a conveyer belt. Once the part is on the conveyer belt, it travels around underneath a camera and the camera checks to see if it is a good part or a bad part. The part then travels back around to the robot arm and the robot arm is supposed to pick up the part and place it back on the spinning rack on either the good or bad shelf (A or B).

Last edited:
we'll help if we can - regardless ...

but ...

I've just GOT to ask ... are you a student, an instructor, or a lab technician, or ? ...

please note that you'll have to ZIP the ACD project file before you can attach it to this thread (that's just a forum rule) ...