Help with an error on a Modicon M340

bigorno

Hi everyone,

I am quite new to PLC programming and I'm facing an issue I haven't been able to solve on my own. After a ladder logic update from Unity Pro S, the PLC entered error mode.

The processor M340 - BMXP3420302 has :
- its "err" led on (red)
- its "can err" led on (red), even though I'm not using CanBus.
The adjacent IO module (BMXDDM16022) has its "err" led flashing (in red).

According to Schneider documentation, this correspond to a processor, system or configuration error (https://www.schneider-electric.com/en/faqs/FA221750/).

* I cannot connect to the PLC anymore, I can't even ping it. I reset the IP to the default one using the rotary switch (set on clear IP), but I still can't join the PLC. The PLC does not even send any gatuitious ARP request on reset.

* I used Unity SD Card writer to set the ladder logic back to a previous version (which I know does not bring any issue), but the PLC state did not change.

Thanks in advance for your help.

Have you tried connecting via USB? I've always found this pretty reliable if there's a messed up configuration.

What version of Unity and what firmware is the processor? There are compatibility rules but I'm not sure what happens if you ignore them.

Hi Saffa, thanks for your answer

Yes I tried connecting via USB but the device is not detected. I never used the USB connection before, so this may be an independant issue.
I'm using Unity Pro S V8.0.
For the processor firmware version, I don't know how to check it as I can not connect to the PLC.
What I can tell is that this version of Unity Pro should work with the firmware, as I updated the ladder logic several times without any issue.

Yes I'm absolutely sure, I had already read that I shouldn't do it.

The card writter did recognize the SD card, and writted program to the card without any error. I just did it a second time to be sure.