Help with Ladsim, a carpark and counters.

bobmcgod

Hello

I'm studying engineering via a local universities distance learning program. I'm currently studying the PLC module and this means some practical stuff using ladsim, a program that from some breif browsing some of you are familiar with.

So the story is:

There is a carpark.
The carpark has 6 spaces.
The car park needs to show that it either has spaces or is full.

I've got the programme set up so that the counter C1 counts up only when the entry barrier changes from open to let the car through to closed and the same for the entry barrier except counting down.

If the car park is full the entry barrier doesn't open. This is so I don't have to mess around any further than I need to. The counter is set to count to 6. It won't count any higher if the car enters whilst the carpark is full but if it doesn't find a space and leaves it'll count down and not show the correct information. Ie it will display spaces when there are non.

The issue I'm having is that when I first wrote the program, it worked. Now with out modifying it, it doesn't. But the problem is sometime intermittent and obviously I can't submit something that won't work some of the time.

The car approaches the car park and activates a sensor. The sensor then opens the barrier and keeps it open using a timer. I have three rungs that track the barrier from open to closed by latching in the carrect order so that both trigger an output the tells the counter to count up or down (three rungs for the entry barrier and three seperate rungs for the closed).

With ladsim the rungs are black and then when true or 1 or active or whatever you want to call them they turn red. So when the car car enters the barrier the very first time the rung the counter is on is black then when it goes from open to closed it turns to red. It then stays red until another car enters and the barrier opens the rung turns to black and again the barrier shuts and it turns red.