Help with SIMATIC TI335 shift register

Posted previously but had the wrong info, hoping to get new advice.

Being a mechanical engineer, I'm not very experienced with PLCs, and what little I do know is in RSLogix. We have a SIMATIC TI335 PLC and are currently using the shift register to track one type of reject condition (see attached image). In this process, any time the machine stops, there will be 3-5 items on a section of the machine that will have defects and need to be rejected, and we're working on automating this process. I have a grasp on how to get the wiring done and the mechanical side of things, but I need help with the syntax/code for the ladder logic.

The shift register locations for the defects are most likely not going to be 0-4, but that may be an option with modifications to the location in the shift register for the reject to fire on. The current rungs are placeholders for this work, but need to be refined. I can do the input side pretty easily, it's doing the output that has us stumped, and Google has not been my friend.

Pseudo code: "whenever the machine stops, make these X specific locations in the shift register be a 1"

Thanks in advance.

shift register.jpg

What you want to do is use a move command to move the value "FFFF" into each of the shift register words. This will turn on every bit in the shift register.

Regards,

But I don't want to reject everything.

For example, the items to be rejected may be something like 5th, 6th, and 7th on the line, but I don't want to reject items 1-4 that are good product, or items 8-16 after the reject that will also be good product.

Even if I did want to do as you are proposing.... I have no idea how to do it.

It's kinda like being given all the materials to build a cabinet, and I can maybe sorta kinda figure out which pieces go where... but I don't know how to use a hammer or screwdriver.