High speed input over profinet

rQx

Lifetime Supporting Member
Hi,

I have a setup of one master s7-1200 - three slaves s7-1200

On each of the slaves there is a HSC on a motor for positioning. It generates around 300-400 pulses per second, can this be transfered over profinet with I-device. Or is it to slow? The distance between the master/slave is within 20m.

Can it be done if the slaves were to have a Siemens LOGO also?

I'm in the develop phase so I investigate what path to go

/Tim

It depends on what the application is.
I assume that you are transfering the count value from the HSC module, not the raw impulses.
I think you should be able to achieve a Profinet update time of 2ms without much problems. If that is fast enough is up to the application.
For very fast applications you may need Profinet IRT instead of 'just' Profinet RT. I dont think S7-1200 supports Profinet IRT.
To find out the actual update time of the values you need to take everything into account. Also the CPU update time of both Controller and I-Device PLCs, and the update rate of the HSC module.

It depends on what the application is.
I assume that you are transfering the count value from the HSC module, not the raw impulses.
I think you should be able to achieve a Profinet update time of 2ms without much problems. If that is fast enough is up to the application.
For very fast applications you may need Profinet IRT instead of 'just' Profinet RT. I dont think S7-1200 supports Profinet IRT.
To find out the actual update time of the values you need to take everything into account. Also the CPU update time of both Controller and I-Device PLCs, and the update rate of the HSC module.

I was thinking of the raw impulses, having the slaves work as decentralized I/Os. Maybe et200SP with high speed input module is better? I can also just have it hardwired to the master PLC, that may be a easier way of doing it

Maybe et200SP with high speed input module is better?