How can I improve my counter's accuracy?

nathanb

So I have a plc program where most of the outputs are based on a counter that goes from 0 to 1000. The counter speed is adjustable and is generally set to run through a full cycle (count from 0 to 1000) anywhere between 0.5 to 2 seconds. The problem is, when I try to energize an output by using an EQU instruction, it will almost always skip the count because the scan time is not fast enough. I've been using a LIM instruction which has been working, but its not quite as accurate as it needs to be.
I switched the counter logic to be continuous to try to make it faster which made it almost perfectly accurate... But only in the continuous task; it made the other periodic task significantly less accurate.
I was curious if any of you had any tips on how to remedy this or just general help.
I am still relatively new to PLCs and ladder logic so any advice would be awesome, Thanks in advance!

Is the count coming via an encoder? Are you using a high speed input for the count.
Since you mention periodic task and not OB, I assume this is a Rockwell product, which one?

I found (though never tested), that the high speed counter card in the 5069 and I believe 1769 have outputs that you can program to activate depending on the counter reading. I assume Control Logix high speed counters to be able to do the same.
I think that's going to be the fastest you'll find as it removes the control from the user program to a dedicated "device".

Is this for a batching operation? Positioning operation?

I don't know if it would help in your situation, but I have improved the accuracy of timed operations by calling a subroutine multiple times each sweep, rather than merely once per sweep. In that way, I was more likely to accurately trigger an event based upon the timer accumulator value being greater than the timer preset, since I got more opportunities to examine the accumulator value.