How to create HMI pushbuttons in RSL5000

StoneNewB

Hey all,

I'm pretty new to programming, and I just started this great opportunity with a company that took me under their wing. I started a few weeks back, and I love it. I was given a task today to create a load cell calibration routine. I needed a little help from my teacher to start off. To finish it, I need to program pushbuttons into my RSL5000 routine, from our HMI. I want to see if I could finish this without asking for his help. A walk through of how to execute this would be great (I'll be taking notes from you).

Last edited:
Yeah somewhat. For a pushbutton I would be using a XIC instruction. XIC is examine if closed. That means in order for that XIC instruction to be a true statement, the contacts would closed (normally open). XIO is examine if open, which means in order for that XIO instruction to be a true statement, it has to be open. That would make it a normally closed contact. Correct?

Last edited:
Of course you don't create the button in RSLogix5000, that is done in the HMI. Just like a physical pushbutton when wired up and pressed activates of of the physical (Local ....) bits, a pushbutton on an HMI activates the BOOLEAN tag which it is addressed to.

You must create that tag in your program, typically in the 'Controller' tag section. This can be an individual BOOLEAN tag if you wish to keep it simple at this point in your learning. Then a pushbutton object is added to the HMI program and it it is addressed to the tag which you have created in the PLC.

You haven't asked about the HMI program. We'll assume for the moment that you know how to handle that part of the task.

As bernie said. Create your tags and logix in the PLC. Then create buttons associated to those tags in your HMI software. You did not mention what hmi your going to use.