How to determine the direction of a moving object with 2 sensor inputs

Melkske

Hello, i am a beginner with a Siemens Logo 8 PLC.
I would determine the direction of an object if it passes a whole cycle of 2 input sensors.
See the pictures as attachment for the cycle in the upper right corner (loading and unloading.

Who can help me a little bit?

Regards
Geert

I dont see an attachment. Is the gap between the sensors smaller than the object, or can the object completely pass a Sensor before making the next sensor?

Hello @Melkske/Geert, I don't see any attached pictures.

I would think it would be similar to a quadrature encoding system, where detecting which sensor input has transitioned from 0 to 1 on the first scan cycle when when both sensors are 1 will be the "downstream" sensor. This assumes the object length in either direction of motion is greater than the distance between sensors.

So the key word is "transitioned." PLC programming is primarily about time: when something happens is more important than what happens. A PLC program's logic is repeatedly evaluated in a series of discrete events in time called scan cycles.

Consider all possible combinations inputs states from the two sensors (call them LEFT and RIGHT) on any singe scan cycle:
  • LEFT is 0; RIGHT is 0
    • There is no object in front of either sensor, there is nothing to detect
  • LEFT is 1; RIGHT is 0
    • There is an object in front of the left sensor, but it is not in front of the right sensor; this could be one of two cases
      • the object is moving left-to-right and will block the right sensor shortly
      • OR
      • the object is moving right-to-left and has just stopped blocking the right sensor
    • We cannot tell which case it is from the sensor states alone
  • LEFT is 0; RIGHT is 1
    • This is the mirror of the previous (LEFT=1; RIGHT=0) combination; the results are the same but mirrored
  • LEFT is 1; RIGHT is 1