How to Make Live/Online Changes in Indusoft/Wonderware

Hello friends,

I'm new to using Indusoft Web Studio IWS V8.0/Wonderware. I have been able to download the programs to the remote HMI and start them from the HMI, and am looking to do this while the HMI is running.

How can I download remotely from my VM while the remote HMI panel is running and see the changes take effect live, without have to shutdown the application each time to reopen in order to get the new changes?

Are there any tutorials or documents on how to do this? Can't seem to find it in the Wonderware/Indusoft/AVEVA documentation.

Honestly, I'm not familiar with the newest version of Wonderware, but in the past, one would use NAD (Network Application Development) to do that.

you can make some changes online if you are in HMI mode and not using the Thin Client or Mobile access. But I do not know of a way to make changes remotely and then download them without stopping and starting the application.

To connect the the Remote computer or 'HMI', the connection is created with the 'Remote Management Tool' on the Home Toolbar.
I assume this is how you downloaded to the HMI already.
Create a connection to the remote HMI then close the remote management dialog box.
Open a screen and make any desired changes. When saving or closing the screen, it'll prompt if you want to download the changes to the runtime project. This only works for screen level changes. Any tag changes, scripts, schedules, etc require stopping the runtime and downloading the project.

you can make some changes online if you are in HMI mode and not using the Thin Client or Mobile access. But I do not know of a way to make changes remotely and then download them without stopping and starting the application.

Thanks doctord,

Would you please explain what is HMI mode? Is this change done on the same PC where the app is running and with Indusoft Web Studio IDE installed, or on the remote development PC with Indusoft Web Studio?