Hardware Configuration Changes to Live Siemens System

DeltaOP

Hi all,

This is going to be a long post apologies. I'm also a complete beginner to the world of PLCs.

I'm currently working on my first ever project that involves integrating Ignition (software by Inductive automation) with an already established system controlled by a Siemens S7-1200 PLC. The architecture of the system is relatively simple, the S7-1200 PLC is the controller of a separate Siemens IO device and is also connected to two Siemens HMI panels (KTP1200 Basic). The system was set up by a third party company so we dont have access to the original project file, however there is no password protection on the PLC (as far as I know) and we have a TIA .15 project backup that I have been able to look at.

At this point in the project I need to do a couple of things to get tags in Ignition from the PLC:
  1. Connect a local workstation with Ignition to the PLC
  2. Upload the live program on the PLC to a new project in TIA Portal, enable the PUT/GET with remote partner configuration option, and then redownload the project to the PLC.
Since we dont have access to the original project file, I want to be absolutely certain that whatever I do is not going to break the system or destroy the program. These were a couple of things I'm trying to figure out before my next site visit:
  • When connecting to the local workstation I will need to disconnect the ethernet cable between the PLC and one of the HMI panels to introduce a network switch that will allow for an extra output to go to the workstation. Will disconnecting the HMI momentarily to introduce these new components cause any long term issues in the HMI or PLC? And will a basic dumb switch and cat5/6 cables be fine for this?
  • The original project was written using TIA v15. This version is no longer available but I have licensing for v17 and have the trial v15.1. Can I take an upload of the program using these TIA versions?