how to program motor control relay

I hope the OP got their homework in on time. I am still struggling with it. This is what I got. It works...But not the way my garage door does. If anyone takes a look, I would appreciate it

I hope the OP got their homework in on time. I am still struggling with it. This is what I got. It works...But not the way my garage door does. If anyone takes a look, I would appreciate it

Why did you decide to reset the counter at a value of 5 instead of 4 ?

@ Mickey,
Last nite I had some free time, so I started playing with this again. I got frustrated with the emulator so I loaded it on a ML1000(1761-l10bwa).
I got it to work but on the 4 count It would start fire the up input again. I tried to replicate it again this evening and shorted the ML. It won't reload or run the program now. I don't have the time to mess w/ it right now. Thanks for looking at the logic. I haven't given up yet. I will work on it some more when time allows.

@ Mickey,

I got it to work but on the 4 count It would start fire the up input again.

Put a one-shot in front of your counter instruction.

The reason is when you use the "RES" instruction to reset your counter it not only resets the .ACC it also resets the enable bit of the counter. If the rung with the counter is still true the next scan the counter will increment again. It's very hard to push a button in for only one scan.

Last edited:
Oh I see what you are saying and will give it a try. The next issue I have is when trying to duplicate real world conditions ie The up limit stays made after the motor stops. The counter will not count for the next step unless it is cleared. I tried using one shots on the limit switches. I believe there has got to be a cleaner/simpler way. Thank you very much for your input.

I think I got it.

This is what I came up with. It works the way I think it should. I even added a door blocked photo eye.
Thanx Mickey for taking the time to look at "me playing at home."