Motor Control program

alhernandez

Hi!

Can any one help me out on this?

I am new to this thing, and I am trying to make a positioning system that has a lead screw whit a 5mm linear motion per rev., move by a 24dc gear motor of either a 725rpm or 215rpm (have not decided yet which one to use?) and a 1000 count encoder
It needs to be move 200mm per section and I been thinking in using an AB Pico controller.
The way I see things is to use the encoder to do 4000 count when the motor is running, stop the motor at 4000 counts punch a hole and move another 4000 counts, punch and so on for 25 section. Overall it will move 500mm.
The question is HOW CAN I CONNECT THE ENCODER TO THE PLC AND WHICH MOTOR WOULD BE THE BEST TO USE? The ladder program I have a fair idea, but if any one can help on this I would appreciated.
The motor, lead screw, the encoder I have but I am not sure about the PLC.

Thank You in advance to any one that replies

I don't know Pico, is it possible use DeviceNet. Absolute-encoder in DeviceNet is good solution becourse it knows position while there is no Voltage or someone turn it manually without motor.
Inputs via D-Net tells directly the position without any impulse calculation. Usually position data tells how many rounds 12-13 bits and 12 bits for one round, all binary coded. Preset via D-Net fe. 0 or what ever, is possible and count-direction selection in start-up.
What motor ? Is VFD and normal 3-phase motor impposible ?

Seems you will need precision, is that correct?

The PICO is nothing more than a programmable relay/timer/counter, its max frequency is somewhere around 100hz. I dont think that will work well for your application.