I made a PLC AI assistant that references manuals

I think it's really tedious to dig through long manuals so I made an AI tool that can:

- Answer questions about parts without digging through PDFs.

- Generate code snippets based on supplier manuals.

Here's a short video demo you can watch :)

You can use it for free - just let me know, how can I make this more useful for you? or are there any other feature requests to solve something for your specific workflow?

Learn more here

Try it here

Best of luck in your endeavors!

I'm not an expert, but every system of these I've ever seen has been killed by the fact that it doesn't actually understand the info, it just says something that sounds good. This is double dangerous, because to someone who doesn't know what they are doing, the instructions sound super plausible, but are plain wrong. I've never yet seen an implementation that can say "I don't know" or "I'm sorry Dave I'm afraid I can't do that".

example Q:
how to set up profinet in L83

A:
To set up Profinet in L83, you will need to follow the steps below:

1. Open the Hardware Configuration Utility in VersaPro by double-clicking on "Hardware Configuration" in the Folder Browser.
  2. Configure the PLC by adding it to the utility.
  3. Open the Ethernet tab in the CPU's configuration window.
  4. Set the following parameters:
    • Adapter Name: Specify a name for the PLC during EGD configuration in VersaPro.
    • IP Address: Set the IP address for the PLC.
    • Subnet Mask: Set the subnet mask for the PLC.
    • Gateway IP Address: Set the gateway IP address for the PLC.
    • Status Address: Specify the start of an 80-bit global status area. This can be kept at the default setting.
  5. Save the hardware configuration to disk.
  6. Return to VersaPro and select "Tools" > "Communication Setup" to open the Communication Configuration Utility.