I need help interfacing PLCs with computers!!

Abed Mqayyad

Hello everybody,

I recently got a new job in a batching plant factory. Programming the PLC is part of my new job, I am good at ladder programming actually, however, they need me there to develop a way so that we don't have to use the "control panel" anymore. We want to make it all computerized. I think this is called "interfacing"?, I am not sure though. Unfortunately, I am very new to the world of interfacing. I have no idea how to send a signal from my PC to the PLC!!

In the past two weeks I have been looking that up in the internet and finally I came here. I found out that interfacing between PLC and the computer can be done by a VB code in a GUI environment. I am not that good at VB though. Also, I have read some articles in this forum about "win cc".

My questions are:

1) Where should I begin if I want to learn how to interface a PLC with a computer? Should I learn VB prg. language? Or should I just begin learning "win cc" and that would be enough (regardless of the PLC type) ?

2) In our work, we use devices such as "BONGSHIN Digital Weighing Indicator BS-7220", however, I was wondering how to show the value being indicated on my PC screen?? For example, if the indicator is displaying 100 KG on its screen, how could I transfer this number to the indicator inside my program? Moreover, this is not the only device we use, we also use counters and sometimes timers and I will need to read their data and show it on my PC screen.

3) The types of PLC I have seen where I work are two: 1) LS GLOVA G7F-AD2A from LG, 2) Zelio family from Schneider. Anyway, I can require another types if it is important, though. So, what port should I use to connect the PLC with the computer, Serial port, Parallel, or Ethernet? I really have no idea!.