need help interfacing inputs and outputs to Siemens S7-300 PLC

fayyazali

Hello, im a new student of PLC's and i wanted to know how u could connect npn and pnp sensors to a plc ... and also how to connect output to plcs using relays ???
thankyou

you have to use either "onboard" I/O on the PLC or Signal Modules like SM321 (inputs) and SM322 (outputs)

i already have a i/o module installed ... it is SM-334 .... but how to connwect npn and pnp sensors to the plc with an external power supply ???

Hello Fay yazali;

A SM-334 is an analog In/Out card, 4 inputs/2 outputs; it cannot be used for digital signals (NPN and PNP connections are used for digital signals).
For more details, I suggest you go to Siemens' support website and search/download the pdf manual "Programmable Logic Controllers S7-300 Module Data". It will help you select the adequate modules for your application, and give you specs and wiring diagrams for all modules.
http://support.automation.siemens.com/WW/llisapi.dll?func=cslib.csinfo&changelang=true&aktprim=0&siteid=cseus&lang=en

Note that manufacturers will use different terms to designate the modules they produce. For Sioemens, PNP = source, NPN = sink. a module such as the 6ES7321-1BH50-0AA0 is designated Source Input, so it will accomodate PNP sensors (the terminal diagram is quite clear).

Hope this helps,
Daniel Chartier

Last edited:
Hello,