In and Out Solenoid Program

AP123

Hello all, I am a beginner and am requesting some help. I have been tasked with a program in ladder logic where once the start button is pressed, the pneumatic solenoid must fully extend, then fully retract, forever, until the stop button is pushed, and the ON light is present the entire time its running.
There is a sensor that lets you know once it has reached full extension and likewise for retraction.

There are two issues I am facing in my various attempts at this program, one being both outputs come on at the same times, making the cylinder extend/retract slowly. If I correct that, the other issue is if the piston is in the middle, and neither sensor is activated letting the program know if its in the extended or retracted position, it will not start. So it needs to be able to start from any position.

I have spent a long time on this, and really hate to ask for assistance but I need to understand what I am doing wrong so I can become better. I appreciate it so much thank you all.

Try this, it is assumed that the solenoid is 5 port type i.e. the solenoids only need a pulse to move position so once triggered will go to position, if the solenoid is not this type just remove the reverse sensor in the last rung so it maintains the reverse solenoid. There are a number of ways to do this, so I bet you will get many ideas (Assuming I interpret your post correctly).

PUSH PULL SOL.png

That is an interesting way to do it. I truly appreciate the time sir.
So as long as the reverse latch is not engaged, the solenoid is extending. Forward sensor detects the arm, engages the reverse latch while turning off the extend solenoid. Once it fully extends the reverse sensor breaks the latch, and the cycle repeats if I fully understand. I was trying to latch them both, and had no way of them turning off it appears after looking at yours.

Thank you so much. I need to keep practicing. May explore buying a used PLC for home.