Issues Installing Factory Talk View 8.20

Bullzi

Lifetime Supporting Member
Hello Everyone,
I just upgraded my FTV so that I can do SE projects. I have been able to download Version 8.20 without a problem. When I go to install it I get the attached error.
Here is what I have tried so far:
Delete downloaded file and re-download.
Right Click - Run as Administrator.
Turn Off Anti-Virus and Firewall.

Just won't install I get the same error no matter what I do. Any help you can give would be greatly appreciated

System:
Dell Percision M4800 Laptop
Windows 7 Pro SP 1 64 Bit

FT Studio Error.PNG

Which install are you doing (Studio Enterprise/ HMI / RSLinx / FTD)?

It should be compatible. Have you reached out to TechSupport?

Can you post that log here?

This is what I am installing:
9701-VWSTENM FT View Studio SE FT View Ent EN MED S/W

Here is the log.

FTV Studio Log.jpg

I'm far from an expert, but the first place it appears to trip over itself is when it goes looking for the Sequence.txt. Does that file exist in the installation directory? Could it just be an issue with the download?

Try installing that Rockwell Garbage on a VM (and ONLY a disposable VM). Three reasons:
1) FTView Garbage likes to be installed on a totally virgin machine
2) You do NOT want FTView or any of its three thousand background services running on your actual work OS.
3) When it crashes and burns (which it will, often taking out other installed software with it), you can just restore the VM image and keep going.

Why on earth would you use FTView? it is hands down the worst piece of crapware out there. Use anything else, Wonderware, Advanced HMI, Ignition, Point of View... Dump FTView

I use a VM for FTView also. NOT because it crashes. Actually I can't remember the last time it crashed, but because I need different versions of it.

This is what I am installing:
9701-VWSTENM FT View Studio SE FT View Ent EN MED S/W

Here is the log.