Just lucky I guess

llgermain

Started work at an old Ormat Geothermal binary power plant in 2010 here in Fallon. I have been an I&C tech for 35 years. That being said I have never had the pleasure of working with the GE Series 6. Which is unfortunate in that there seems to be an abundance of them here. In fact there were so many spare parts I am able to build a complete replica of one of the units at home. Why you ask? The "HMI" (Sarcasm intended) is vintage GE. Meaning, NO trending, or anything that would make an I&C guy's life easy. The alarms function as now you see it and now you don't. They seem to clear when the problem goes away.
I have a spare Workmaster and the software for the communication and I can program the PLC to the limit of my capabilities. Which are substantial, the limits that is.
The purpose of my endevor is to upgrade the HMI. I found KEPWare that I am able to talk to the PLC and used Ignition to start the HMI. So far no real problems. In order to check the operation of the PLC that operates the generator, I built another PLC to simulate the inputs to the units PLC. Everything was going well untill I tried to figure out how to program analog outputs from my simulator. I just cannot seem to figure out how the code works. If anyone has some desire to watch me beat my forhead on the table then I am willing to learn. I have spent close to a year reading the posts of this site and a few others. This one seems to have the expertise that I need.
Thanks in advance for any and all help.