lookinf for ideas for my senior Project

jirah

hello everyone, Im a engineering student at FIU and im working on my senior project this year. I have a very complicated task that have to be acomplish by the end of the year, and im hoping i can find some guidence of where to start looking for what i need. First things first. I need to build a conveyor belt with a few sensors that will carry some light weight trays filled with soil and seeds. i need to built the conveyor and use some plcs to take the input of the sensors and control the speed of the conveyor and sometimes stop the conveyor depending of the situation. this is the problem put in simple terms. it will get more complex at time goes on and the machine is actually built. As of now, i need to build a simple conveyor with the sensors to do what i have explained above. The problem which this, is that i do not know which plc to use and how am i gonna implemented in the conveyor. im finishing up building the conveyor and about to get to the part where i need to get the pcl functioning with the sensors. so, if anyone has any suggestions or point me in the right direction i would gladly appreciate it. i do not have a motor for the conveyor yet, so if you guys have any suggestions i'm willing to listen.

thanks for your time and help on this matter. :confused:

What do you already know about PLCs? What PLC models are available in your lab and what I/O modules? What HP motor do you need? What speed is the conveyor supposed to move? What types of sensors are available in your lab at what voltage do they operate at?

what do i know about PLC basic logic class and lab knowledge, programming wise = nothing what so ever.

what plc models are available in my lab at school and I/O modules? none that can be use by out team.

HP motor do i need? this are the motors that i have available but i might have some others but i can guide myself with this ones.

26660_345980101595_558721595_4202171_4263387_n.jpg